My Nanny Diaries

It's not just my summer job…. it's an adventure.

Homemade Play Dough

on June 20, 2012

Play Dough, anyone? These girls LOVE play dough.

20120620-081422.jpg

I found this super easy recipe here and here, and I thought I would pass it along. It’s really easy… But it tastes horrible. I had to remind Sparrow a few times to keep the dough out of her mouth. I found another recipe online for play dough that’s supposed to taste good. I might try that one next.

Materials

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 1 tablespoon cream of tartar
  • Food coloring
  • Saucepan
  • 1 cup flour

Directions

  1. Combine water, oil, salt, cream of tartar, and food coloring in a saucepan and heat until warm.
  2. Remove from heat and add flour.
  3. Stir, then knead until smooth. The cream of tartar makes this dough last 6 months or longer, so resist the temptation to omit this ingredient if you don’t have it on hand.
  4. Store this dough in an airtight container or a Ziploc freezer bag.

Thank you to http://youreouttayourtree.wordpress.com/ for leading me to the recipe!


One response to “Homemade Play Dough

Leave a comment